Employment Law & Immigration Attorneys
Call Us Today 646.374.4819

A Revised (Or Perhaps Simply Repackaged?) Immigration Ban

On Monday, March 6, 2017, President Trump signed a new executive order blocking citizens of six predominantly Muslim countries (Libya, Syria, Somalia, Iran, Sudan, and Yemen) from entering the US.

What does this mean? It means there’s a 90 day ban on new visa applicants from these six counties, which will then have 50 days to meet US requests for improved vetting of applicants.
How is this order different from the one he signed on January 27, 2017, that was ultimately blocked by federal courts around the county and by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals?

• The January 27, 2017 order barred the issuance of visas to, and entry of into the US, individuals from the countries of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

• The January 27, 2017 Order suspended the admission of refugees (except Syrian) to the US for four months, while the admission of Syrian refugees was suspended indefinitely.

The new order provides exceptions for travelers from Libya, Syria, Somalia, Iran, Sudan, and Yemen. The citizens of Iraq are no longer included in the ban.

Legal permanent residents of the United States, dual nationals who use a passport from another country, and those who have been granted asylum or refugee status in the US are no longer included in the ban.

Syrian refugees are no longer indefinitely banned. Instead, there is a 120 day freeze of the entire US refugee program, that requires review and renewal. Refugees already formally scheduled for travel will be allowed entry into the US.

The new executive order goes into effect on March 16, 2017.